GMAT in a nutshell

Once TOEFL is passed, my next obstacle in the marathon towards MBA admission is the dreaded GMAT.

GMAT stands for Graduate Management Admission Test, and it’s a 4 hours “Computer-Adaptive standardized test (CAT) in mathematics and the English language for measuring aptitude to succeed academically in graduate business studies. The exam measures verbal, mathematical, and analytical writing skills that the examinee has developed over a long period of time in his/her education and work.”

Basically, it is one of the most important selection criteria for admission into Business Schools MBA programs.

The sections of the exam are:

Quantitative
– Problem Solving (PS)
– Data Sufficiency (DS)

Verbal
– Reading Comprehension (RC)
– Critical Reasoning (CR)
– Sentence Correction (SC)

Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA)
– Essay 1: Analyze an argument.
– Essay 2: Analyze an issue.

The score ranges from 200 to 800 and it covers Quantitative and Verbal sections. AWA is evaluated separately and the score ranges from 0 to 6.

To give you an idea, the GMAT score average of the students accepted in the top Business School is always higher than 700. For non-native English students the task is much harder as the exam’s English is extremely complicated.

I’ve planned to take the exam at the beginning of June. In fact, I want to have some time to retake it in case I don’t get the desired score (700). In August I will be on vacations for almost the whole month and in September I plan to focus only in the essays, so on July 31st the GMAT and TOEFL scores will be definitive.

I have less than 3 months to prepare it, and it’s going to be a though task as I don’t have much time during weekdays, and I won’t be able to study all the weekends (I have some trips planned in April, friends are coming in May,  etc.).

I’ve just finished a 3-months preparation planning and I will be taking test exams starting this weekend. I will be posting my test exam’s results so I will track my progression. On the other hand, I’ve just got some 2009 GMAT books to help me to prepare the exam: GMAT Official Guide, Kaplan and three Manhattan GMAT guides. I will start reading them very soon.

Responder

