Lantau Island

Last week I visited Lantau Island for the first time, during the Chinese New Year holidays.

Lantau is the largest island of Hong Kong, and it has many major infrastructures, such as The Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong Disneyland and Ngong Ping 360.

Most of the island is steep and hilly, covered by a dense forest and with some wild beaches that seemed almost unexploited. However, the island is visited mainly because of its Giant Budha (world’s tallest, outdoor, seated bronze Budha) and the Po Lin monastery. Here you have a pic of the Budha I took that day.

 

If you ever plan to go there, you can get the MTR from Central and in about 30 min you will arrive at Tung Chung station. Usually everybody takes the Ngong Ping 360 cable car that takes you to the Budha, but if you are not willing to wait more than an hour line, you can buy the tickets beforehand (on Internet) or even forget about the cable car and take a bus in the surrounding bus station. I did the last and for much less price I arrived at the Budha feet quicker than if I would have waited the line.

In my opinion, the cable car is only worthy if the weather is very good (to enjoy the views) and if there is no much waiting line. Anyway, I’d recommend doing one of the ways on bus so you can see the island during the journey. By instance, I had the opportunity to see some beaches and small towns (I stopped at Tai O, amazing old town) that I would not have seen if I would have taken the cable car.

Responder

